The Optometry Unit Board is the governing body for Optometrists and Optometric Assistants represented by ESC Local 20 at Kaiser Permanente in Northern California. This democratically elected board serves two year terms and is comprised of a President, District Representatives based on geographical areas, and an Optometric Assistant at Large Representative. This Board meets every other month.

The Optometry Unit Board seeks to improve working conditions and advance the professional concerns of the members of the Optometry Unit, and are at the forefront of advancing the historic Labor Management Partnership at Kaiser.


President Joan Mah, O.D.
District 1: Santa Clara, Skyport, San Jose, Milpitas, Mountain View, Gilroy, Santa Cruz, Redwood City, San Mateo Neda Jam, O.D.
District 2: San Francisco, South San Francisco (Daly City), San Rafael, Petaluma, Novato, and Santa Rosa Alvin Chua, O.D.
District 3: Walnut Creek/Park Shadelands, Martinez, Antioch, Pleasanton, Livermore, Vallejo, Napa, Fairfield, and Vacaville John Corpus, O.D.
District 4: Fresno, Stockton, Modesto and Tracy vacant
District 5: South Sacramento, Elk Grove, Sacramento, Roseville, Davis, Point West, Folsom and Rancho Cordova Kelly O’Shea, O.D.
District 6: Fremont/Hayward (Greater Southern Alameda Area GSAA), Union City, Oakland, Richmond Debbie Deveno, O.D.
District 7: Optometric Assistant at Large Lisa Rocha